Trim the Fat: Wear red to support fight against heart disease

Maria Hoover, SBJ Features EditorMaria’s weight change for the week: +2.2 pounds; total: -8.2 pounds

Women across America can show solidarity in the fight against heart disease by suiting up in red clothing, accessories or lipstick on Feb. 6.

The American Heart Association is inviting folks across the U.S. to join the Go Red for Women Campaign, a national movement aimed at saving women’s lives.
Common sense – and the fact that my health care providers have advocated that I lose weight to improve my overall health, and specifically my blood pressure – this is a campaign that I wholeheartedly support, no pun intended.

According to the AHA, heart disease is the No. 1 killer of women in the U.S., but research also shows that 80 percent of cardiac events could be prevented if women made the right choices for their hearts in regard to diet, exercise and abstinence from smoking.

That so many events – many resulting in death – could have been prevented is a sobering and motivating thought. Though I quit smoking just more than a year ago, I realize that I still have a long way to go on the diet and exercise front.

Some other alarming numbers from AHA show 64 percent of women who die suddenly of coronary heart disease had no previous symptoms, and one out of six women don’t recognize heart disease as their greatest threat.

I will don a red shirt tomorrow, to show my support and in hopes that maybe a woman out there will wonder why so many people are wearing red, do a little digging and learn more about this preventable killer.

Weekly update
As has happened in the past, I hit a milestone (a 10-pound loss) and let down my guard. And with a gain of more than 2 pounds, I’m now dealing with the consequences. Instead of giving up this time, however, I’ve reminded myself that I’m making lifestyle changes for the long haul. Still, this setback is discouraging.

I’m trying to stay motivated, and hope to have more positive results (in the form of a negative weight change) next week. Stay tuned!

1 Response to “Trim the Fat: Wear red to support fight against heart disease”


  1. 1 Frank Shipe February 9, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Bravo for shedding those pounds. We’ll keep rooting for you on your continuing march toward better health and foxhood.


Leave a Reply

RSS Latest Headlines from SBJ.net

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

SBJ Tweets

Archived Blog Posts

All content © 2008 SBJ Publishing Inc.

*The newsroom blog of Springfield Business Journal

