Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads

Geoff Pickle, Web Editor

Dr. Emmett Brown said it best with this cult classic statement from one of my favorite equally cult classic ’85 films Back to the Future.

With a new atmosphere comes new sights, smells, tastes, and in this case, responsibilities. Well, there might not be new tastes, although my predecessor did leave behind some chocolates.

Former Web editor Jeremy Elwood left to pursue other options, leaving me a rather helpful manual and a large variety of tasks to perform on a daily basis.

Both good for me and good for the Springfield Business Journal is I have found I am more excited than intimidated.

As this is my first full-time job, I have a variety of feelings coursing through me. Where will my career go from here? What will I learn working at the SBJ? What will I eat for lunch?

Most noticeably, I feel the path on which I am now set will only move forward. And this feeling is securing.

On July 13, I attended the first of many SBJ events I am to be a part of in my time with the journal. It was one of the monthly 12 People You Need to Know breakfasts put on by SBJ to recognize important people in the Springfield area. This month’s featured guest was Keith Jaspers, a Springfield business owner and founder of the Rainbow Network, a charity organization that helps poverty stricken people in rural Nicaragua by providing them with homes, health care and education.

As I sat watching SBJ editor Eric Olson speaking with Mr. Jaspers, while I diligently took notes, the backdrop from the Tower Club on the top floor of the The Hammons Tower was breathtaking. I thought to myself,”I have reached a higher level of Springfield society,” and the feeling was welcomed by my psyche.

An entire road I barely knew existed has been opened to me at the Springfield Business Journal, and I’m very grateful to take a ride on it, to check out its grooves and to maybe even form new paths.

When Doc Brown first entered his time machine Delorean, it was with a clear picture of his destination. While I can’t claim to be looking through Delorean lenses, I can say my future now looks more optimistic than ever.

2 Responses to “Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads”


  1. 1 Dianne Elizabeth Osis July 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Geoff–

    I am proud to be a fellow traveler. A career at SBJ is always a journey into new dimensions. Every day is different, and the best is still to come!
    But now I’m curious. What did you have for lunch?

    All the best,
    Dianne E.

  2. 2 sbjgpickle July 14, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Thanks for the comment Dianne. You’ll be happy to know that today I was well fed with homemade peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.


Leave a Reply

RSS Latest Headlines from SBJ.net

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

SBJ Tweets

Archived Blog Posts

All content © 2008 SBJ Publishing Inc.

*The newsroom blog of Springfield Business Journal

